Business News

The two properties judged the best designed in Wales

A home constructed on a coastal hillside in Swansea and a group centre in Cardiff have picked up awards within the Royal Society of Architects in Wales (RSAW).

The two buildings received the 2022 RSAW Welsh Structure Award and can now be thought of for the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) Nationwide Award which can be introduced in June.

The successful companies have been Penarth-based Loyn & Co Architects which designed the non-public dwelling in Swansea, and Benham Architects in Cardiff and IBI Group which designed the Grange Pavillion in Grangetown.

The Grange Pavillion was additionally named this yr’s Consumer of the Yr.

The judging panel mentioned the Pavillion had introduced significant change for the Grangetown group. The new multi-use constructing replaces an underused and deteriorating Bowls Membership and contains three giant exercise rooms with totally different features.

RSAW Jury Chair Sarah Featherstone mentioned: “This year’s two winners are examples of design excellence in Wales. The jury were bowled over by the spectacular location of the house in Swansea, a steeply sloping site, high up on the coastline offering views of the coast, within the AONB. In a magnificent stand of pine trees, the property’s glazed atrium contains an internal garden planted with small trees and palms, creating the centrepiece of the house.

In addition to an in-depth early morning publication, we can be sending out common breaking information e-mail alerts. To enroll to this service CLICK HERE


And, observe us on LinkedIn to catch the newest tales and to community with the Welsh enterprise group.

“In Cardiff, community project Grange Pavilion demonstrates exemplar collaboration, which has transformed the lives of its residents. The building replaces an underused and deteriorating Bowls Club with a new multi-use building which can adapt to the needs of its community.”

The shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize for the best building of the year will be drawn from the RIBA National award-winning projects later this year.

Running since 1966, the RIBA Awards are for buildings in the UK by RIBA Chartered Architects and RIBA international Fellows.

Entries are submitted to the region or nation in which the building is located. Projects are judged first for the RIBA Regional Awards, then the RIBA National Awards. Finally, the RIBA Stirling Prize shortlist is selected from winners of the RIBA National Awards.

Supply hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.