Germany Adds Switzerland, Poland, Liechtenstein, Jordan & Mauritius to List of High-Risk Areas

Unvaccinated travellers from Switzerland, Poland, Lichtenstein, Jordan and Mauritius will face stricter entry rules when travelling to Germany starting from next Sunday, December 5, as all five have been included in Germany’s list of high-risk areas.

The decision has been announced by the German health agency for disease prevention and control, the Robert Koch Institute (RKI), today, on December 3, reports.

Travellers who spent time in a high-risk area must carry with them a test result or proof of vaccination or recovery and if demanded by the carrier, present such proof for the purpose of carriage. In case of a stay in an area of variants of concern, only a test result is admitted,” the RKI notes, explaining the rules of entry for those reaching Germany from a high-risk area.

It also points out that the proof for the purpose of travel, as well as the proof of vaccination, recovery or test results, should be uploaded at the digital entry registration portal Those who register through this portal will receive the registration confirmation in their email, which they should carry with them printed or digitally when reaching Germany.

Travellers from high-risk areas are also subject to the obligation of quarantine. However, those who upload proof of recovery or vaccination against the virus are not subject to it. Those who enter the country with test results, on the other hand, can leave quarantine only on the fifth day if they test for COVID-19 and result negative again.

If you spent time in a high-risk area prior to entry, the relevant test might not be conducted earlier than five days after entry (test to release possible from day five following entry),” the RKI explains.

Updating the list of high-risk countries, the RKI has also removed Uzbekistan, Thailand, and St. Vincent and the Grenadines from the list, which means that travellers from these countries to Germany are not subject to the restrictions mentioned above. The same are, however, obliged to register before travel to Germany.

The list of virus variant areas has remained unchanged since last week and consists of:

  • Botswana
  • Eswatini
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Zimbabwe
  • South Africa

>> Germany Categorizes 8 Countries as Virus Variant Areas, Removes 7 From High-Risk List

Earlier today, reported that due to the spread of the Omicron variant and the increase in the overall number of COVID-19 cases, it is now almost impossible to travel to Germany, since yesterday, German authorities agreed to impose tougher restrictions on non-vaccinated people by banning them from entering certain places like restaurants, bars, museums, libraries, and more.

>> Who Can Travel to Germany Amid COVID-19 & What Are the Rules

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *