Cyprus Removes All EU Member States From Its Green Travel List Due to Increasing COVID-19 Rates

As the infection rates with COVID-19 are on the rise across the 27-nation-bloc, the Cypriot authorities have ended restriction-free entry for all unvaccinated and unrecovered European nationals.

According to the latest risk assessment published by the Cypriot Ministry of Interior, Malta, the last standing green category country has been removed from it, meaning that at present, no EU Member State is placed on Cyprus’ green travel list, reports.

The green category, arrivals of which are exempted from entry restrictions, consists of the United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Bahrain and Saudi Arabia.

Exempted from entry restrictions are all travellers who have been fully vaccinated against COVID-19, recovered from the disease or holders of EU Digital COVID-19 Certificate – or other equivalent documents. Vaccines recognised as valid from the Cypriot authorities include all European Medicines Agency (EMA) approved vaccines such as Pfizer/BioNTech, AstraZeneca, Moderna, Janssen and the other vaccines such as Sputnik V, Sinopharm vaccine (BBIBP COVID-19) and the Sinovac vaccine.

“It is also noted that all passengers, regardless of the country’s category, including those holding a valid certificate of vaccination, are obliged to apply for the Cyprus Flight Pass within 48 hours before the departure of their flight,” the authorities explained.

Moreover, Andorra has been added to the red category. Altogether with nationals of Peru, unvaccinated and unrecovered Andorrans are required to follow these rules in order to be permitted entry in Cyprus:

  • Present a PCR test taken 72 hours before arrival and,
  • Self-isolate until another test upon arrival is performed

The red category consists of:

  • EU Member States: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Ireland, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Czech Republic, Finland
  • Microstates: Andorra, San Marino
  • Schengen Zone: Switzerland, Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway
  • Third Countries: Egypt, Armenia, Georgia, United States of America, United Kingdom, Jordan, Israel, Belarus, Lebanon, Oman, Ukraine, Russia, Serbia, Singapore

On the other hand, Argentina, Israel, Canada, Columbia and Namibia, have been added to the orange category, which includes the following countries:

  • EU Member States: France, Greece, Spain, Italy, Malta, Portugal
  • Microstates: Monaco, Vatican City
  • Third Countries: Argentina, Australia, Japan, Israel, Canada, Qatar, China (including Hong Kong and Macau), Colombia, Namibia, New Zealand, South Korea, Uruguay, Rwanda, Chile

Arrivals from the orange category are required to present a certificate of a PCR test performed 72 hours before entering Cyprus.

The World Health Organisation (WHO) data shows that during the last 24 hours, 206 positive cases have been reported in Cyprus, taking the total infection rates since the pandemic started to 127,684.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *