Christy Moore presented with lifetime achievement award at RTÉ Folk Awards

Singer Christy Moore was presented with a lifetime achievement award at the RTÉ Radio 1 Folk Awards on Tuesday night.

The Planxty founder and influential artist was presented with the honour by Dublin singer Damien Dempsey.

The winners were announced in Dublin’s Vicar Street venue and on RTÉ Radio 1 at the live event hosted by John Creedon and Ruth Smith.

John Francis Flynn was awarded both best folk singer and best emerging artist.

Ye Vagabonds took best folk group and traditional folk track; and Sarah Makem was inducted into RTÉ Radio 1’s Folk Awards Hall of Fame.

The audience enjoyed live performances from a range of artists including KÍLA, John Francis Flynn, Stephanie Makem, Allanah Thornburgh, John Spillane, Mick Flannery, Susan O’Neill and Christy Moore.

Other winners included Caoimhin O’Fearghaill for best folk instrumentalist; Mick Flannery and Susan O’Neill for best original folk track (Chain Reaction); and Eoghan Ó Ceannabháin and Ultan O’Brien for best folk album (Solas an Lae).

A television highlights programme will also be broadcast on RTÉ One on Saturday 20th November.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *