21 EU/Schengen Area Countries Currently Highly Affected by the COVID-19, ECDC Reveals

The European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) has urged everyone to refrain from taking non-essential trips to the majority of European Union and Schengen Area countries as they have been identifying increased infection rates.

In line with the newly updated maps published in support of the Council Recommendation, all of the following countries are highly affected by the COVID-19 disease, and thus, are coloured dark-red:

  • Belgium
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czechia
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Greece
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain

All of these countries have been coloured dark red as they have registered more than 500 positive infection cases in the last 14 days, reports.

According to the data from the World Health Organization (WHO), of all the dark-red listed countries, France (1,367,895), Spain (637,694), Italy (901,607), the Netherlands (122,347), Czechia (40,650), Belgium (83,159), and Portugal (169,818) have reported the highest infection rates in the last seven days.

Therefore, taking into account the number of infections that have been increasing rapidly as well as the circulation of the Omicron variant, the EU Health Agency advises that everyone refrains from taking unnecessary trips to the dark-red listed countries.

In particular, travel is discouraged for persons who have recovered or been vaccinated against the virus, as the risk of contracting the disease and developing symptoms is higher for unprotected persons.

In addition, everyone is advised to check the entry rules of their destination country and make sure to meet all the requirements in order to avoid any inconvenience.

In contrast to the countries that have been listed in the dark red category, Romania currently has the most stable Coronavirus situation. Romania is the only European country that is neither coloured red nor dark red.

Five Romanian regions are currently coloured orange, whereas another two are coloured green. This means that travel to Romania is not discouraged. Nonetheless, everyone is still required to meet the country’s entry rules.

The other countries that aren’t part of the dark red, orange, or green category are currently categorised as red countries. The countries that currently fall under the red list are Bulgaria, Hungary, Austria, half of Norway, half of Sweden, and half of Germany.

Similar to the advice given to travel to dark-red countries, the EU Health Agency suggests that everyone avoids taking non-essential trips to these areas as well.

Previously, the EU Commission adopted new rules on the EU Vaccination Certificate. The Commission decided to make the vaccine certificates valid for a period of 270 days while noting that such rules will ensure that the Member States will keep coordinated travel measures.

>> Europe Travel Demand Although Damaged – Is Improving Significantly, ETC CEO Reveals

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *