Lithuania Eases Entry Rules for Several Countries – Imposes Stringent Rules for Arrivals From Hungary

Travellers reaching Lithuania from Cyprus, Crete, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, and France, starting from Monday, October 11, will be subject to less stringent entry rules as these countries have been removed from the red list which includes countries highly affected by the Coronavirus.

Such a decision means that arrivals from the territories mentioned above are eligible to enter Lithuania by presenting a pre-departure COVID test and undergoing a second test taken between the third and fifth day of their stay in the country, reports.

According to the announcement of Lithuania’s Ministry of Health, the same entry rules apply to all travellers reaching from the yellow category, which besides newly added countries, also includes the Czech Republic, Denmark, Iceland, the Spanish region of Majorca, Portugal, Finland and Sweden.

“From Monday, October 11, Hungary will be moved to the red zone of the list of affected countries, but Cyprus, Crete, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and France (except Martinique and Guyana) will leave the zone,” the press release published by the country’s Ministry of Health reads.

However, authorities in Lithuania have clarified that travellers who have been fully vaccinated with approved vaccines or recovered from COVID-19 are not subject to these rules, including the EU Digital COVID-19 Certificate holders.

The recent statement of Lithuania’s Ministry of Health has also revealed that Hungarians will no longer be able to enter Lithuania only by presenting pre-departure and upon-arrival tests. Instead, they have to undergo a ten-day quarantine and present a COVID test performed 72 or 48 hours before departure.

Other travellers who must follow similar rules as Hungarians, since their countries of departure are considered as high risk or red category include the following:

  • Ireland
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Estonia
  • Greece, except Crete
  • Spain
  • Italy
  • Croatia
  • Latvia
  • Poland
  • Norway
  • Martinique and Guyana Regions of France
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Switzerland
  • Germany

Third countries currently found in Lithuania’s red category include Israel, Japan, the United States of America, the United Arab Emirates and the United Kingdom.

At the same time, the green category has been complemented with a new country and region;  Lichtenstein and Tenerife and Gran Canary islands of Spain. Travellers reaching Lithuania from the green list of countries which consists only of Malta, have to present a test taken before departure.

The PCR test for COVID-19 must be performed at least 72 hours in advance prior to arrival in Lithuania, and a negative response is received, the antigen test must be performed no earlier than 48 hours before arriving in Lithuania, and a negative answer was received. A document proving a negative test result must be submitted to the carrier before the trip,” the press release explains.

Authorities in the Baltic State have also clarified that all travellers aged 16 and older coming from the following countries have to follow these entry rules in order to be permitted in Lithuania.

Up to this point, a total of 347,548 positive cases with COVID-19 have been registered in Lithuania, with 2,453 being reported in the last 24 hours, based on the data provided by the World Health Organisation (WHO).

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *