Norway Imposes Quarantine Rules for 2 Countries While Lifts Entry Ban for 4 Others

All unvaccinated and unrecovered travellers reaching the country from the Faroe Islands, Luxembourg, and several regions of Finland and Sweden will have to follow self-isolation rules since they have been placed on the red list, the Norwegian authorities have announced.

Such a decision has been revealed today by the Ministry of Health and Care Services and will become fully effective on Monday, October 11, reports.

According to a press release issued by the same Ministry, except for the Faroe Islands and Luxembourg, the four regions of Finland and the two regions of Sweden that will fall under the red list are as follows:

  • Finnish regions: Birkaland SVD, Helsinki and Uusimaa SVD, Central Finland SVD and Northern Ostrobothnia SVD
  • Swedish regions: Västerbotten and Västmanland

Nonetheless, to avoid confusion among travellers, the authorities have highlighted that those who are fully vaccinated, the ones that have recovered from the disease, and children under 18, are exempt from the self-isolation requirement, regardless of the country they are travelling from.

“The entry quarantine only applies to travellers from red, dark red, purple and grey countries. Children and young people under the age of 18 are exempt from entry quarantine regardless of where they come from,” the statement of the Ministry reads.

Additionally, it has been stated that all travellers who are required to follow quarantine rules can end their isolation period earlier if they present a negative COVID-19 test result taken no earlier than three days before arrival.

Except for the countries and regions that have been newly placed on the list of COVID-19 highly affected countries, this list already includes the following:

  • Red list: Belgium, Bulgaria, Greece, Ireland, Croatia, Slovakia, Switzerland, Germany, and Austria
  • Dark red list: Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovenia, and Great Britain

In addition, the same Ministry has announced that four countries, three archipelagos, and three regions of Sweden will be part of the green list from Monday since the epidemiologic situation has significantly improved in these countries/regions.

Consequently, as of Monday, the entry ban will no longer apply to the following:

  • EU countries: Andorra, Cyprus, Liechtenstein, Spain
  • Archipelagos: Corsica, France, Crete, Sicily
  • Regions of Sweden: Skåne, Västra Götaland and Östergötland

This means that all persons travelling to Norway from one of the countries, archipelagos, and regions mentioned above will be allowed entry without being subject to the quarantine requirement.

Similarly, travellers from Taiwan, Saudi Arabia, and New Zealand, which are currently placed on the purple list, are also exempt from the obligation to follow quarantine rules.

Previously, Norway announced that the country will now accept vaccination certificates that indicate that the holder has been immunised with Covishield or Sinovac vaccine.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *