Germany Adds Estonia, Latvia & 3 Third Countries to High-Risk List, Removes Several Others

The German authorities have revealed that starting from today, October 8, travellers from two European countries and three third countries will be subject to stricter entry rules since they have been placed in the high-risk areas list.

According to an announcement published by the Robert Koch Institute (RKI), which is the German research body responsible for disease control and prevention, as of today, the following countries will be part of the high-risk:

  • Estonia
  • Latvia
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Ukraine
  • Yemen

Such a decision to move these countries to the high-risk list was taken after they identified over 100 COVID-19 infection cases per 100,000 inhabitants during the last seven days, reports.

Based on the figures provided by the World Health Organization (WHO), Estonia has reported 949 new infection cases only in the last 24 hours. During the same time frame, Latvia reported 1,752 new cases, Ukraine reported 15,125, Yemen reported 37, and Brunei Darussalam reported 106 new infection cases.

Accordingly, based on the current rules that Germany has, travellers from one of the countries/regions that are part of the high-risk list are required to register at before arriving in Germany and are allowed entry for non-essential purposes as long as they hold proof of full vaccination.

In addition, the same has noted that those who provide proof of recovery from the virus and those who can present a negative COVID-19 test result can also enter Germany for travel purposes.

Nonetheless, those arriving from high-risk areas need to follow self-isolation rules until they submit proof of complete vaccination, recovery from the virus, or a negative test result via the entry portal.

“Vaccinated and recovered persons can end the quarantine from the time when the proof of vaccination or recovery is transmitted via the entry portal. If the transmission takes place before entry (strongly recommended), no quarantine is needed,” the statement of German authorities reads.

On the other hand, through the same update, it has been revealed that Azerbaijan, Colombia, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, the French regions of Guadeloupe, Martinique, Saint Martin, Saint Barthelemy, French Polynesia, and the Norwegian counties of Oslo and Viken have been removed from the high-risk list.

This means that travellers from these four countries and six regions are no longer subject to strict entry rules that apply to arrivals to those categorised as high-risk.

Last week, RKI added Belarus, Lithuania, Romania, and El Salvador to the list of high-risk areas. At the same time, it removed Mozambique from the list.

>> EU Health Agency Suggests More Restrictions on Travellers From Germany

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *